[Skip to Content]

Call Text:

• Augustine and Christian Theologies of Jewish Protections
In her Augustine and the Jews: A Christian Defense of Jews and Judaism, Paula Fredriksen traced the ways that Augustine came to construct a Christian theology of Judaism, one that eventually preserved a social space for Jews as a religious minority in the post-Roman West. This theology contrasted in telling ways from Augustine’s principled opposition to dissident Christians and to traditional Mediterranean cult. Papers are, first of all, invited from all disciplines employing a wide range of methodologies to examine what resources are available either in Augustine or his later interpreters to ensure Jewish flourishing. Papers are also welcomed on the limits and shortcomings of the Augustinian tradition in this regard and about times in which his theological reasoning failed to persuade or protect. Paula Fredriksen will respond to accepted papers and reflect upon her work a decade after its appearance.

• James K. A. Smith on Augustine in the 21st Century
Co-Sponsored Session with SBL Contextualizing North African Christianity Unit. An interview with James K. A. Smith on the questions raised by his bestselling On the Road with Saint Augustine: A Real-World Spirituality for Restless Hearts (Brazos, 2019). Smith takes Augustine as his guide to problems that perplexed Augustine and still challenge us such as ambition, sex, friendship, faith, freedom, justice, parenting, and death. While explaining his own journey in the footsteps of Augustine, Smith will also explore further how others may do the same in our time. Papers are not invited for this session.

 

Mission Statement:

This Unit provides a forum for the historical and constructive study of issues relating to the thought of Augustine, including how it was received in various eras and how it might be a resource for religious thought today.

Method of Submission:

INSPIRE

 

Co-Chairs:

Matthew Drever, matthew-drever@utulsa.edu

Paul R. Kolbet, kolbet@aya.yale.edu

 

Steering Committee:

Michael Cameron, cameronm@up.edu

Jesse Couenhoven, jesse.couenhoven@villanova.edu

John Kenney, jkenney@smcvt.edu

Michael Lamb, k.michael.lamb@gmail.com

Sarah Stewart-Kroeker, sarah.stewartkroeker@gmail.com

 

Session Allotment: Tier 1 – Two 90-minute sessions

Next Review: 2021