[Skip to Content]

Call Text:

The “Bonhoeffer: Theology and Social Analysis” Group invites paper proposals on themes related to Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s life, theology and legacy.

As 2021 represents the ninetieth anniversary of 1931, we invite proposals related to any of Bonhoeffer’s experiences, activities or writings of that fateful year. Other topics on which proposals are encouraged are the place of Christ in an interfaith space, Bonhoeffer and criminal justice reform, Bonhoeffer and Reinhold Niebuhr, Bonhoeffer and Catholic thought and Bonhoeffer and 9/11 after twenty years. Other topics will be considered as well.

Please indicate your willingness to engage in interactive sessions or panels by (for example) submitting a manuscript in advance, delivering a paper summary, and engaging in extended Q&A, using high-engagement pedagogical strategies to present material to the audience, and/or, incorporating visual aids (AV and/or hand-outs) in your presentation.

Mission Statement:

This Unit seeks to explore the historical and contemporary interface between theology and public life within the context of Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s legacy in theology. Together with professional societies affiliated in the study of Bonhoeffer’s life and thought, the Unit has explored a variety of topics from medical ethics to political life in a global context.

Method of Submission:

INSPIRE

 

Co-Chairs:

Karen V. Guth, Kguth@holycross.edu

Matthew Puffer, matthew.puffer@valpo.edu

 

Steering Committee:

Stephen R. Haynes, haynes@rhodes.edu

Joshua Mauldin, joshua.mauldin@ctinquiry.org

Howard Pickett, Picketthy@wlu.edu

Dianne Rayson, dianne.rayson@newcastle.edu.au

 

Session Allotment: Tier 2 – Two 2-hour sessions

Next Review: 2025