[Skip to Content]

In 1971 Gustavo Gutiérrez published the article “Hacia Una Teología de la Liberación”, followed by one of the most influential books of the 20th century, Teología de la Liberación: Perspectivas. To mark this year of celebrations, reflections, and conversations on this important anniversary we invite proposals that creatively engage Gutiérrez’s work from a variety of interdisciplinary lenses and contexts. We especially invite proposals that bring Gutiérrez’s contributions in contact with current challenges and future visions of the liberation of theology and theologies that seek to liberate, including problematizing the meaning(s) and praxis of liberation across the theological disciplines.

Co-sponsored roundtable by Black Theology Unit, and Class, Religion, and Theology Unit, and Latina/o Religion, Culture, and Society Unit, and Liberation Theologies Unit, and Religion and Economy Unit, Religions in the Latina/o Americas Unit, Roman Catholic Studies Unit, Vatican II Studies Unit

Co-Chairs:

Jawanza Eric Clark, jawanza.clark@manhattan.edu

Catherine E. Clifford, cclifford@ustpaul.ca

Kristin Colberg, kcolberg@csbsju.edu

Thia Cooper, tcooper@gac.edu

Maria T. Davila, mariatdavila@gmail.com

Jessica Delgado, delgado.92@osu.edu

Ángel Gallardo, ajgallardo@smu.edu 

Lauren Frances Guerra, laurenguerra18@gmail.com

Eboni Marshall Turman, eboni.marshallturman@yale.edu

J. Michelle Molina, molina@northwestern.edu

Elayne Oliphant, elayne.oliphant@nyu.edu

Jeremy Posadas, prof.posadas@gmail.com

Rosetta E. Ross, rross@spelman.edu

John Seitz, jseitz@fordham.edu

Daniel Vaca, daniel_vaca@brown.edu

Daisy Vargas, daisyvargas@email.arizona.edu