[Skip to Content]

For a co-sponsorship with Afro-American Religious History Unit, commemorating the 100th anniversary of the African Orthodox Church, specifically:

●        The relationship between the African Orthodox Church, and Civil Rights and Black nationalist organizations, like the Universal Negro Improvement Association (UNIA);

●        The place of the African Orthodox Church amid the Black Protestant religious landscape and/or other Orthodox churches in the United States;

●        The church’s Afro-Caribbean, Afro-Canadian, and African-American roots and transnational concepts of Blackness;

●        Comparisons with historical and existing Orthodox Christian communities in Africa, and/or Black participation in Orthodox Christian Churches in America.

Session postponed from 2020, not soliciting new proposals:

  • Current Debates on Women's Ordination to the Diaconate (Joint Session with Ecclesiological Investigations Unit)
  • Spiritual Light in the Orthodox and Quaker Spiritual Traditions (Co-sponsored with the Quaker Studies Unit)
  • The Past and Future State of (Orthodox) Theology
  • Universal Salvation (co-sponsored with Christian Systematic Theology Unit)

 

Mission Statement:

This Unit focuses on the critical study of the theology, culture, history, and practices of the many different Eastern Christian churches (numbering some 260-300 million worldwide), including their mutual interaction and engagement with Western Christian and non-Christian groups.

Method of Submission:

INSPIRE

 

Co-Chairs:

Brandon Gallaher, b.gallaher@exeter.ac.uk

Ashley Purpura, apurpur@purdue.edu 

 

Steering Committee:

Daniela C. Augustine, daugustine@leeuniversity.edu

Brian A. Butcher, brian.butcher@utoronto.ca

George Demacopoulos, demacopoulos@mac.com

Philip Dorroll, dorrollpc@wofford.edu

Paul Ladouceur, 123thabor@gmail.com

Ivana Noble, noble@etf.cuni.cz

Vera Shevzov, vshevzov@smith.edu

Erin Walsh, egwalsh@uchicago.edu

 

Session Allotment: Tier 2 – Two 2-hour sessions

Next Review: 2024