[Skip to Content]

Call Text:

All proposals for new Units must begin as Exploratory Sessions. An exploratory session is a complete prearranged session that provides a platform for a group of members to announce a line of inquiry new to the AAR program and to seek out others interested in pursuing it further. The proposal can be for a paper, panel, or other creative type of session format. Exploratory sessions are submitted through the INSPIRE system, and must be submitted before March 1, 2021. Notification of program acceptance will be announced by April 1, 2021.


In order to establish a new program unit, the unit proposers must normally be approved by the Program Committee to hold an exploratory session two years in a row. After the second exploratory session, the unit proposers may submit their proposal for a new unit, which the Program Committee can approve, deny, or — in very rare circumstances — return for revision and resubmission after a third, final exploratory session.

Method of Submission:



Whitney Bauman, whitneyabauman@mac.com

Robert Puckett, rpuckett@aarweb.org


Steering Committee:

Monica Coleman, macoleman@post.harvard.edu

Amy DeRogatis, derogat1@msu.edu

Ann Gleig, ann.gleig@ucf.edu

Derek Hicks, hicksds@wfu.edu

Amir Hussain, amir.hussain@lmu.edu

Robert P. Jones, rjones@prri.org

Meredith Minister, mministe@su.edu

Reiko Ohnuma, reiko.ohnuma@dartmouth.edu

Jeremy Posadas, prof.posadas@gmail.com

Santiago Slabodsky, santiago.slabodsky@hofstra.edu

Roger Sneed, roger.sneed@furman.edu