[Skip to Content]

The Jain Studies Unit will run the roundtable panel accepted for the 2020 AAR AM in 2021 as well as our co-sponsored panel with Hindu Philosophy and Philosophy of Religion units.

Mission Statement:

This Unit began in 2009 in recognition of the burgeoning state of the field and its relative neglect in the AAR. Originating in India in the first millennium BCE, Jainism — historically as dominant a South Asian religious tradition as Buddhism and Hinduism and, in the light of current demographics, a disproportionately powerful presence in the cultural and economic life of India — is a world religion now extending far beyond South Asia to East Asia, Europe, North America, Africa, and Australia. Given the increasing focus of scholarly attention on Jainism both in India and around the globe, this Unit provides a venue in North America for scholars of Jainism to meet regularly and exchange ideas.

Method of Submission:

INSPIRE

 

Co-Chairs:

M. Whitney Kelting, m.kelting@northeastern.edu

Steven Vose, svose@fiu.edu

 

Steering Committee:

Gregory Clines, gclines@trinity.edu

John E. Cort, cort@denison.edu

Lynna Dhanani, lynna.dhanani@yale.edu

Ellen Gough, emgough@gmail.com

 

Session Allotment: Tier 1 – Two 90-minute sessions

Next Review: 2024