[Skip to Content]

1) Responses to Indian Politics in North America. Contact: Shana Sippy, shana.sippy@centre.edu
The North American Hinduism unit sees papers that address diasporic reactions to cotemporary Indian politics. Potential topics include but are not limited to recent court rulings and political rhetoric concerning Jammu and Kashmir, Babri Masjid/Ramjanambhumi Supreme Court Decision, the Sabarimala verdict, Penal code 377, and the Citizen Amendment Bill.

2) Dalit Identities and Caste in North America. Contacts: Sailaja Krishnamurti, Sailaja.Krishnamurti@smu.ca & Shana Sippy, shana.sippy@centre.edu
The North American Hinduism unit seeks papers that attend to Dalit identities and the complex relationship between caste and Hinduism in North America.

3) Hinduism in American Politics. Contact: Tanisha Ramachandran, ramacht@wfu.edu
The North American Hinduism Unit seeks papers that examine the role of Hindus and Hinduism in American politics. Suggested topics include the election of Kamala Harris, Tulsi Gabbard and expressions of Hinduism; the nominations of Hindu Americans to judicial roles, enacted rituals and recognition of Hindu festivals and rituals in the political sphere, and the role of organized Hindu groups in political campaigns.

4) Yoga and Whiteness Contact: Dheepa Sundaram, Dheepa.Sundaram@du.edu
The North American Hinduism Unit seek papers for a round table on yoga and whiteness. Generally speaking, this roundtable will foster a discussion on how modern yoga culture in the US fails to interrogate whiteness amidst concerns of authenticity and cultural appropriation. The discussion will address how authenticity politics and assertions of cultural appropriation need to be contextualized through discussions of racism and colonialism while paying attention brahmanical power and Hindu Nationalism.

5) Beyond Apu: The emergence of Hindu characters on American TV. Contact: Prea Persuad, ppersuad@uncc.edu
The North American Hinduism Unit seeks papers that analyze the representation and depiction of Hinduism and Hindus in/on TV shows such as “Never Ever Have I,” “Indian Match Making” and “American Karma.” Hinduism and Popular Culture.

6) Mytho-political in contemporary North American political and Global contexts. Examination of the ways in which Hindu narratives are deployed in various political arenas Contacts: Moumita Sen, i.moumita@gmail.com & Shana Sippy, shana.sippy@centre.edu

7) Hindu Temple Building, Ritual Practices, and Caste in North America. Contact: Amy Allocco, aallocco@elon.edu)

 

Mission Statement:

This Unit was established in 2006 for the purpose of drawing greater scholarly attention to Hinduisms outside of South Asia. Though it will focus on North America, the Unit also welcomes relevant research on Hinduisms in other non-Indian contexts. The Unit has three main goals:

• To study and describe Hinduisms in North America and related diaspora contexts
• To develop a more sophisticated understanding of what distinguishes these Hinduisms from those in South Asia
• To nurture thoughtful debate on the methodologies unique to and appropriate for their study

Method of Submission:

INSPIRE

We encourage people to contact the Chairs advance of submitting proposals if you have any questions or need assistance. We also welcome the possibility of co-sponsored sessions.

 

Co-Chairs:

Shana Sippy, shana@sippys.net

Dheepa Sundaram, dheepa.sundaram@du.edu

 

Steering Committee:

Arun Brahmbhatt, arun.brahmbhatt@gmail.com

Bhakti Mamtora, bmamtora@wooster.edu

Prea Persaud, ppersaud@ufl.edu

Tanisha Ramachandran, ramacht@wfu.edu

Moumita Sen, Moumita.Sen@mf.no

Tulasi Srinivas, tulasisrinivas07@gmail.com

 

Session Allotment: Tier 1 – Two 90-minute sessions

Next Review: 2025