[Skip to Content]

The Sacred Texts and Ethics Unit invites proposals from scholars and/or activists that closely analyze the use of sacred and foundational religious texts, including commentaries, in ethical or political discourse (either contemporary or historical). We welcome individual papers and panel proposals from all religious traditions and methodologies, including constructive ethical reflection with a textual basis. Proposals on all topics are welcome. We are particularly interested in the following topics:

● The intersection of danger or death in sacred texts and how we might assess this intersection from the standpoint of ethics. Proposals should consider dangerous moments in confrontation with a deity or other figure in one or more religious traditions. Readings vary on these texts from confrontation to apologetics. We are particularly interested in new reading strategies and the ways in which theologians and other readers advance interpretations related to ethics.

● How does our national discourse intersect with new adaptations of sacred texts? Given the recent desecration of national political and historical artifacts at our nation's capital, we are interested in papers that explore the role of scripture and its interpretation to exploit racial, social, political, and ideological divisions in our current context.  

● Following a successful 2019 panel around our perennial call for papers on sacred texts and material culture, we are interested in sponsoring a related session in 2021 on ethics and the production of physical copies of sacred text, We welcome proposals around the following topics:
(a) labor practices connected to the physical production of sacred texts;
(b) natural resources and the production of sacred texts;
(c) sacred texts and global distribution; and
(d) other related topics.

● The relationship between different textual genres (narrative, legal, poetry, letters, etc.) and religious ethics.

 

Mission Statement:

The Sacred Texts and Ethics Unit invites scholars and activists across the disciplines to critically consider (or re-consider) the complex and enduring role of scriptural and foundational religious texts in the contemporary world as well as historically, and to theorize the roles these texts play in ethical reflection, lived religious practice, and political debate.

Method of Submission:

INSPIRE

 

Co-Chairs:

Tyler Atkinson, atkinsonts@bethanylb.edu

Elizabeth Goldstein, goldstein@gonzaga.edu

 

Steering Committee:

Souad Ali, souad.ali@asu.edu

Alda Balthrop-Lewis, alda.balthrop.lewis@gmail.com

Gloria I-Ling Chien, chien@gonzaga.edu

Nauman Faizi, nauman.faizi@lums.edu.pk

Tazim Kassam, tkassam@syr.edu

R. Brian Siebeking, siebeking@gonzaga.edu

Raissa Von Doetinchem De Rande, rrande@princeton.edu

 

Session Allotment: Tier 1 – Two 90-minute sessions

Next Review: 2023