[Skip to Content]

Since our 2020 session on "Power and Politics in Transnational Religious Expressions" was postponed, we are not accepting new proposals for 2021. This session, originally arranged for 2020, will be held in 2021. Papers will be posted to the AAR website in advance of the annual meeting to provide ample time for discussion among the panelists, the respondent, and audience members.

Please contact the seminar chairs, Holly Gayley (gayley@colorado.edu) and Justin Stein (justin.stein@kpu.ca) with any questions.

 

Mission Statement:

Our seminar aims to bring together scholars working on different traditions and regions to participate in a sustained conversation about the translation, transmission, and transformation of religious expressions between Asia and North America. We are interested in ideas and practices that exceed institutional, national, cultural, and ethnic boundaries, and use “transnational” to call attention to the boundaries crossed and recrossed—through mediated and contested spaces—between different cultural contexts as religious ideas, technologies, and actors move across the Pacific and around the globe. In this way, “transnational” is meant to be both a descriptor of the complex realities of religious transmission and a promising analytical space to address related processes such as transculturation, adaptation, exploitation, appropriation, (de)territorialization, and glocalization. Many of these processes challenge the ground on which normative national and religious taxonomies depend, and we are interested on sharing theories and approaches less oriented toward reifying discrete traditions and more capable of analyzing the hybridity and fluidity of religious expression in the global age.

Method of Submission:

INSPIRE

 

Co-Chairs:

Holly Gayley, gayley@colorado.edu

Justin Stein, justin.stein@kpu.ca

 

Steering Committee:

Lucas Carmichael, lucas.carmichael@gmail.com

Kin Cheung, cheungk@moravian.edu

Scott Mitchell, scott@shin-ibs.edu

Anandi Silva Knuppel, anandi.silva.knuppel@gmail.com

Merin Shobhana Xavier, merin.shobhana@gmail.com

 

Session Allotment: Two 90-minute sessions (may be back-to-back)

Expiration: December 31, 2022