[Skip to Content]

The accepted panels of 2020 were postponed to 2021 due to the pandemic. No new call for proposals can be issued this year.

Mission Statement:

This Unit seeks to reflect and further stimulate the current process — reflected in the recent creation of new teaching programs, international associations, journals, book series, and reference works — of professionalization and scholarly recognition of Western esotericism as a new area of research in the study of religion. For more information on the field, see the websites of the European Society for the Study of Western Esotericism (ESSWE, http://www.esswe.org), the Association for the Study of Esotericism (ASE, http://www.aseweb.org), and the Center for the History of Hermetic Philosophy and Related Currents at the University of Amsterdam (http://amsterdamhermetica.nl). Information about the academic journal Aries and the Aries Book Series can be found on the website of Brill Academic Publishers (http://www.brill.com/aries; and http://www.brill.com/publications/aries-book-series).

Method of Submission:

INSPIRE

 

Co-Chairs:

Egil Asprem, egil.asprem@rel.su.se

Christa Shusko, cshusko@ycp.edu

 

Steering Committee:

Henrik Bogdan, henrik.bogdan@lir.gu.se

Brigid Burke, sororbrigid@yahoo.com

John Crow, jlcrow@campus.fsu.edu

Manon Hedenborg White, manon.hedenborg.white@sh.se

Marco Pasi, m.pasi@uva.nl

Marla Segol, marlaseg@buffalo.edu

 

Session Allotment: Tier 1 – Two 90-minute sessions

Next Review: 2023